Fall 2013 Winner of the Trade Show is…

IMG_3633On Thursday 5th December 2013 students from Dr. Luke Pittaway’s MGT3700 Introduction to Entrepreneurship class closed out their semester by hosting a trade show.  The trade show required the student teams to develop a trade stand for their venture idea, develop a way of selling their business idea and invite friends and colleagues to attend the event.  The event was held in Nelson Commons (Dining Room 1) and by all accounts was a great success.  Judges were invited to attend and assessed student teams according to the quality of their stand, their conversations about their ventures and their abIMG_3641ility to attract people to their trade stand.

And the winner was… Power2Go presented by Robert Carter, Antonio Torres, Alex Cenci, Mariah Moss, and Jourdan Dunn

The Runners-up were… OUEasyHousing.com presented by Michael Rossi, Spencer Drew, Paige Higgins, Bethany Logan and Austin Stahl

Thank you to our judges Dan Dahlen, Bethany George, Paul Benedict, Annabelle Giordano and Phyllis Bohning.








Fall 2013 Winner of the YouTube TV Commercial is…

From November 5th until December 5th students in Dr. Luke Pittaway’s MGT 3700 Introduction to Entrepreneurship class have developed, upload and promoted YouTube TV commercials for the venture ideas they have been working on during the Fall semester.  Seven teams competed for the honor of being announced the Outstanding TV Commercial of Fall 2013.  The videos were judged by a panel of experts according to how creative the video was, its humor and whether the message of the commercial was clear.  Teams were also assessed on the video’s traction, which considered the number of views and likes the video received.

And the winner was…

Power2Go presented by Robert Carter, Antonio Torres, Alex Cenci, Mariah Moss, and Jourdan Dunn

And the Runners-Up were the Hollywood Hair Chair presented by Nick Knott, Patrick Clark, Matt Bardeen, Jordan Smith, and Alex Conrath

To watch all of the students TV commercials, view the playlist below or visit our YouTube channel at: http://www.youtube.com/OUbobcatentrepreneur

Thank you to the judges: Michelle Ferrier, Associate Dean Scripps College of Communication, Greg Kaple, Founder GAK3 and John Bowditch, Director the Game Research and Immersive Design Lab.

Nominations, registration open for the 2013 Innovation Awards

Innovation Awards GalaNominations are open for the 2013 Innovation Awards, which honor individuals who have made outstanding contributions to entrepreneurship and innovation in Southeastern Ohio.

Individuals may be nominated in the following categories: Entrepreneur of the Year, Outstanding Woman in Innovation, Green Innovation, Social Innovation, Outstanding Innovation by a Student and Outstanding Innovation by Faculty.

Read Full Release Here

Join Us for Lean Startup Conference Livestream

Monday, December 9th – Tuesday December 10th
McCracken Hall 108

This event is a 2 day livestream of the Lean Startup Conference in San Francisco. This year’s event has key sessions for corporate entrepreneurs, non-profit leaders, educators, government staff and growing startups. The program for the event can be found at http://www.leanstartup.co/program (note that the times on the website are Pacific Standard Time).

Light refreshments will be provided throughout the day.

Please RSVP and email questions to trippc@ohio.edu.

Another Student Prize Competition!

Lemelson-MIT Announces National Collegiate Student Prize Competition

Attention inventive undergraduate and graduate students working in health technologies or consumer devices and tools! The Lemelson-MIT Program has launched a nationwide search for the most inventive undergraduate and graduate students: the Lemelson-MIT National Collegiate Student Prize Competition. Inventions can address opportunities in both developed and developing economies.

The “Cure it!” Lemelson-MIT Student Prize
“Cure it!” will reward students working on technology-based inventions that can improve healthcare.

The “Use it!” Lemelson-MIT Student Prize
“Use it!” will reward students working on technology-based inventions that can improve consumer devices and tools.

Winners receive:

  • $15,000 to the winning graduate student in each of the two prize categories
  • $10,000 to the winning undergraduate team in each of the two prize categories
  • A national media campaign and exposure to investment and business communities
  • A trip to MIT for an award celebration in June 2014



The Fall 2013 Winner of the Elevator Pitch Competition is…

On the afternoon of December 3rd, 2013, six teams of undergraduate entrepreneurs in MGT 3700 congregated in Copeland Hall from 4:30 to 5:45pm to present their ventures in an elevator pitch competition. Teams have spent much of the semester working on their businesses plans and their efforts were on display in their presentations to ‘prospective investors’.

First to present were Innovative Icons, who presented “The Source”, a tabletop platform for digital advertisements that also serves as a charging station for mobile devices. The team included Chris Kozak, Taylor Van Neste, Andrew Welsh, Parker Raffel, and Cody McIntyre.

G2GSecond on the ‘firing-line’ were Katie Spector, Sean Newhouse, Danielle Heffernan, Julia Moss, Philistar Bonyo. The team presented G2G, a grocery store delivery service for busy people to “get groceries on the go”.

OUEasyHousingNext up was a leasing and rental service, OUEasyHousing. The team of Michael Rossi, Spencer Drew, Paige Higgins, Bethany Logan, and Austin Stahl proposed an easy way to find off-campus options online. The “search is completely customizable. You can narrow by location, price, bedroom number, and more”.

Solar Panel DocksFourth to the floor was the team of Lindsey Heberling, Tyler Bottermuller, Dominic Cassan, Charles Buchanan, Keegan Flint, and Alex Harshaw. The team presented Solar Panel Docks to the judges. The concept was to provide “sustainable, reliable, and efficient energy for marinas and dock systems” to combat Mother Nature’s sometimes unpredictable inclement weather patterns.

EntOUrageThe fifth group presenting was EntOUrage, a service to help international students become acclimated to their new university surroundings. The team comprised of Brian Adams, Sarah Jamieson, Sarah Herbert, Xin Li, and Noah Howkins provided some wonderful insights into the struggles of international students, including getting a phone, opening an account at a bank, and getting around town.

Power 2 GoNext up in the Shark Tank was Power2Go, kinetic- and solar-powered charging adapters for mobile devices. The team of Robert Carter, Antonio Torres, Alex Cenci, Mariah Moss, and Jourdan Dunn introduced this product as a way for users to “power through their lifestyle”.

Hollywood Hair ChairThe last group to make their pitch was Hollywood Hair Chair. Nick Knott, Patrick Clark, Matt Bardeen, Jordan Smith, and Alex Conrath described their venture as designed to provide a quick, easy way for men to style their hair in a pinch.

AND the winner is Innovative Icons – congratulations!

The teams will continue to share their plans. Thursday, they will be presenting at a mock Trade Show in Nelson Commons.

Be sure to check out commercials the teams developed to promote their ventures! Watch them here.

JudgesThank you to our judges: Lynn Gellermann (Executive Director, Center for Entrepreneurship; Executive Director, TechGROWTH Ohio), John Glazer (Director of TechGROWTH Ohio), and Faith Knutsen (Associate Director, TechGROWTH Ohio).